Jonathan's Blog

Reflections on the glory of God

A Morning Reflection – Three in One

Yesterday I had lunch with a good friend of mine.  We are involved in two ministry efforts together and this was a ‘working lunch’.  We had a good and hopefully productive discussion.  I enjoy listening to this brother in Christ who is several years my senior with a varied and very interesting life experience.  He is an intelligent, insightful and spiritual person. I feel I have so much I can learn from him.  Yet, as God has set it up in the ministries we are working together on, I am the one in the leadership role.  I am the one handing out assignments and yet at the same time asking for help.  I find the whole situation completely ironic!  God is so amazing!!

During our time together, the conversation turned to the Holy Trinity for a bit.  Three persons in one God.  We can have a relationship with each and yet, each is the One, All-powerful, All-knowing, Everlasting God!  Each is not a part of God, but entirely God.  We can never fully understand it.  There is, however, inestimable value in beginning to try and understand it.

The conversation reminded me of a talk or a teaching I had once encountered which presented a concept which really helped me move forward in this attempt to understand three persons in one God.  It is simple and yet profound.  It is that I, as one man, can at the same time be husband, father and son!

Later, when the irony of being the leader to someone I consider a spiritual mentor struck me, I realized that even within this brief time my friend and I shared over lunch, I had been leader, student and friend.  He had been helper, teacher and friend!

We indeed are made in the image and likeness of God.  God in Himself is a relationship of three distinct persons and yet still One God.  We were made for relationship.  We were made for relationship with God and with each other.  We are all on this journey together.  We need each other!

I am so grateful to God for all the amazing people He has placed in my life, from my wonderful wife, to my fantastic family, to so many fabulous friends like the one I was blessed to share time with yesterday!!!

My brothers and sisters in Christ, make some time today to spend with your friends and your family and most especially with the One who made us!!  It’s what we were made for. He is waiting for us!

August 26, 2016 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. Thanks Jon. I always get excited when “A Morning Reflection” shows up in my inbox!

    Comment by Dave Cyr | August 29, 2016 | Reply

  2. Jonathan,
    Each time I read one of your blogs, I find comfort I your words so eloquently spoken. So complex, yet so simple. Thank you for sharing.

    Comment by Cynthia Galante | September 4, 2016 | Reply


Leave a Reply

